HSC courses that can be used in the ATAR calculation

2018 ATAR Advice Notice

When you view your ATAR, download and save your official 2018 ATAR Advice Notice. It’s free until 28 February 2019: after that you will need to buy it through the UAC Shop at a cost of $55. 

ATAR courses are those developed by NESA for which there are formal examinations that yield graded assessments. These courses contribute to your ATAR and are classified as either Category A or Category B courses. Not all of the many HSC courses will contribute to an ATAR.

Criteria for Category A courses: academic rigour, depth of knowledge, the degree to which the course contributes to assumed knowledge for tertiary studies, and the coherence with other courses included in the ATAR calculations.

Criteria for Category B courses: the level of cognitive and performance demands are not regarded as satisfactory in themselves, though their contribution to a selection index is regarded as adequate if the other courses included in the aggregate are more academically demanding.

Download the tables of ATAR courses for 2018 and 2019.


HSC Board Developed courses to be examined in 2018
pdf 41.87 KB
HSC Board Developed courses to be examined in 2019
pdf 101.56 KB
All About Your ATAR
pdf 2464.82 KB
Preliminary Scaling Report 2018 NSW HSC
pdf 350.39 KB