Educational Access Schemes (EAS)

EAS applications for 2016–17 have closed.

Applications for 2017–18 will open on Wed 2 August 2017.

Most of UAC’s participating institutions have Educational Access Schemes (EAS) to help students who have experienced long-term educational disadvantage gain admission to tertiary study.

To be eligible for EAS consideration your educational performance must have been seriously affected, normally for a period of at least six months during Year 11 and/or 12 or equivalent, due to circumstances beyond your control and choosing.

You can read about the seven broad categories of long-term educational disadvantage in the EAS FAQ or by reading the 'Categories of disadvantage' tables on pages 12–21 of the 2016–17 EAS booklet.

Who can apply for EAS?

You can apply for EAS through UAC if you:

  • are a UAC applicant for undergraduate admission
  • an Australian citizen, a New Zealand citizen, a permanent resident of Australia (includes a holder of an Australian permanent resident humanitarian visa)
  • able to demonstrate that you have experienced long-term educational disadvantage as a result of circumstances beyond your control or choosing.

Some institutions will consider EAS applicants with a record of tertiary study.

International students are not eligible to apply for EAS.

How can EAS help me?

Institutions use EAS to make offers of admission in one of two ways. They:

  • allocate bonus points or
  • set aside a certain number of places for EAS applicants.

If you are allocated bonus points your selection rank for a particular course will change. Your ATAR won't change.

You can only submit one EAS application for 2016–17 admissions.

Quick EAS links